METALWORK FIREPROOFING

When using metalworks to build a frame for a building, it is important to pay special attention to fireproofing the load-bearing frame.

The fire-resistance rating describes the structural element’s capability to retain its load-bearing qualities during a fire. Normally, metal is not flammable, but it is a perfect conductor of heat. During a fire unprotected metalworks can quickly reach the critical temperature of 480 degrees Celsius (their fire-resistance rating is around a quarter of an hour) and lose their rigidity. Increasing the fire-resistance rating assists the evacuation of people out of the burning building.

According to a study, the collapse of the World Trade Center towers during the terrorist attack in New York was caused by a fire that started after the planes crashed into the buildings, since the metal frame of the towers was not protected against high temperatures.

Fireproofing of metalworks is done by creating non-flammable insulating layers on the surface that slow down the heating of metal.

One of the most prominent methods consists of coating the metal surface with a layer of inflatable fire-proof mixture, that increases the fire-resistance rating to 3 hours. There is a broad variety of such mixtures based on water and organic solvents. A layer of 2 mm is applied on a prepared stretch of metal surface. When temperature rises, the paint inflates and its volume increases several dozen times over.

Different types of wall plaster are also used to fireproof metal surfaces. This is an effective method that increases the fire-resistance rating up to 3 hours. Its drawbacks are the relative complexity of the works, significant weight of the plaster layer and the need for a frame of wire mesh to support sand-cement plaster. Metal covered with plaster must also be protected against corrosion. A series of lighter plasters based on asbestos, perlite and vermiculite has been developed recently. When necessary due to aggressive environment or aesthetic concerns, it is possible to cover the fireproof layer with finishing materials, a list of which should be provided by the manufacturer in the manual.

And effective but labor-intensive method is to cover metal structures in fireproof slabs and brick walls, which increases fire-resistance rating to 3 hours and more. Slabs are usually made out of slag wool and are 5 to 10 centimeters thick or more. Fireproofing may be done in several layers and with combined methods. When using several types of materials, inner layers are made softer, while outer layers are harder.

The choice of the fireproofing material depends on the fire-resistance rating required, the complexity of the structure and aesthetic considerations and usually is determined by a thorough techno-economical study.

15

Book a call now
* Required fields

Огнезащита металлоконструкций

При использовании в строительстве каркасных технологий большое внимание уделяется огнезащите металлоконструкций, которые составляют несущий каркас сооружения.

Возможность сопротивляться воздействию огня описывает предел огнестойкости, равный временному интервалу, в течение которого при пожаре элемент конструкции сохраняет несущую способность. Металл – материал не горючий, но обладает очень высокой теплопроводностью. В условиях пожара незащищённые металлоконструкции быстро прогреваются до критической температуры 480ºС (предел огнестойкости – около четверти часа) и теряют прочность. Повышение предела огнестойкости позволяет обеспечить эвакуацию людей из горящего объекта.

По результатам исследования, обрушение небоскрёбов-близнецов во время теракта в Нью-Йорке произошло вследствие начавшегося после удара самолёта пожара из-за крайне низкой огнестойкости зданий, огнезащита которых не была выполнена.

Огнезащита металлоконструкций выполняется путём создания на поверхности негорючих и выдерживающих воздействие высоких температур теплоизолирующих слоёв, которые замедляют прогрев металла.

Одним из перспективных методов является окраска поверхности металла специальными вспучивающимися огнезащитными составами (повышает предел огнестойкости до 3 ч). Существует много разновидностей таких составов на основе водных суспензий и органических растворителей. Слой толщиной 2 мм наносится на подготовленную огрунтованную поверхность. При воздействии высоких температур происходит вспучивание краски, приводящее к увеличению её объёма в несколько десятков раз.

Для огнезащиты применяют также оштукатуривание поверхностей различными видами штукатурок. Метод эффективен, увеличивает предел огнестойкости до 3 ч. Недостатками его является сложность работ, большой вес слоя: при использовании цементно-песчаной штукатурки требуется монтаж каркасной сетки. Под оштукатуривание необходима также коррозионная защита металла. В настоящее время разработаны составы более лёгких штукатурных смесей на основе перлита, асбеста, вермикулита и др. В случае условий эксплуатации при воздействии агрессивных сред или с эстетическими целями проводят нанесение на огнезащитный слой финишных покрытий. Допустимые материалы оговариваются в инструкции изготовителя.

Эффективным, но довольно трудоёмким методом является облицовка металлоконструкций огнестойкими плитами, а также кирпичной кладкой. Повышает предел огнестойкости до 3 ч и более. Применяют плиты из минеральной ваты толщиной 5–10 см и более. Огнезащита может выполняться в несколько слоёв, применяются комбинированные методы. При облицовке несколькими видами материалов внутренние слои более мягкие, наружные – жёсткие.

Выбор огнезащитного материала зависит от необходимого предела огнестойкости, сложности конструкции, ограничений по весу, условий эксплуатации, сроков строительства, эстетических требований и производится в результате технико-экономического обоснования.

15

Заказать звонок
* Поля обязательные к заполнению